The Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International (HSMAI) recognizes and salutes the greatest minds in hospitality, travel and tourism sales and marketing with the release of its “Top 25 Most Extraordinary Minds in Sales & Marketing” for 2006. The “hot list” pays tribute to outstanding individuals - limited to U.S. only - who define innovation, vision and achievement.

“We see such outstanding campaigns and smart strategies all year long, and this is our opportunity to shine the spotlight on individuals who stand out in the industry for their creativity, intelligence, and passion for their work,” stated Robert A. Gilbert, CHME, CHA, president and CEO of HSMAI. “With our annual release of the ‘Top 25 Most Extraordinary Minds in Sales & Marketing’ in hospitality, travel and tourism, we are looking to honor those whose work has really made a difference and raised the bar for the industry,” he added.

The 2006 winners, who join an impressive roster of previously cited industry leaders and trendsetters, are:

- George Aguel, Senior Vice President for Disney Destinations, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts
- Cheryl Andrews, Founder, Cheryl Andrews Marketing
- Ronald N. Andruff, President, The Travel Registry
- Chris Avery, CHME, CMP, Vice President Business Development, Passkey International
- Chuck Bowling, Executive Vice President Sales & Marketing, MGM Grand Resorts
- Maureen Callahan, Vice President, Marketing, Destination Hotels & Resorts
- Paul W. Crafton, Director of Travel Industry Sales, The Greenbrier
- David G. Gabri, President, Associated Luxury Hotels
- Christopher Hartley, Chief Executive, Global Hotel Alliance
- Sue Heilbronner, Executive Vice President, Marketing & Business Development, TIG Global LLC
- Terry Jicinsky, Senior Vice President of Marketing, Las Vegas CVA
- Shafiq A. Khan, Senior Vice President, Ecommerce, Marriott International
- Kevin Kowalski, Vice President Marketing/Crowne Plaza, InterContinental Hotels Group
- Kevin Krone, Vice President of Interactive Marketing, Southwest Airlines
- Jasper Malcolmson, Senior Director, Travel, Yahoo!
- Michael Meade, Senior Vice President Sales & Marketing, Jin Jiang International Hotel Management Company
- Cindy Novotny, Managing Partner, Master Connection Associates
- Matt Ouimet, President, Hotel Group, Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide
- Eric Pearson, Senior Vice President of Channel Marketing, InterContinental Hotels
- Michelle Peluso, President & CEO, Travelocity
- Florence Quinn, President, Quinn & Co.
- David A. Renker, Vice President Sales & Marketing, Destination Hotels & Resorts
- Ted Souder, Midwest Travel Vertical Manager, Google, Inc.
- Maurice A. Trosclair, Marketing Maestro, DNO-Destination New Orleans
- Alejandro Watson, Director of Marketing/Mexico, InterContinental Hotels

Recipients were nominated through a “call for entries” to the industry at-large and judged by a panel of senior industry executives. Individuals were judged for their work over the last year based on the following criteria: creativity and innovation; cutting-edge sales or marketing campaigns; triumph in challenging situations; and sales efforts that resulted in dramatic gains.

The Top 25 will be honored on stage at the HSMAI Adrian Awards Gala on Jan. 29, 2007. In addition, these individuals will receive a personalized plaque and be featured in the spring issue of HSMAI Marketing Review.